Who We Are

1 10 2012

I worked an actual 8 hour day today, by which I mean I was in the office for eight consecutive hours.  I understand that normal people do this all the time, but I am not a normal person.  I am a youth minister, and my “full time” job is actually only supposed to be 30 hours a week.  It’s worth pointing out, too, that I’ll be working fifteen hours on Saturday, and actually, pretty solid times for the rest of the week too.

I am tired, and cranky because of my ankle (did I mention I sprained my ankle two weeks ago?  Yeah, I did.  And it’s aching right now). I worked an eight hour day, changed into sweatpants, poured a glass of wine and plopped down on this couch, intending a nice, relaxing night of Netflix and knitting.

Now, however, I have turned off Netflix.  And I started working.  As in for my job.  I am planning the large group session entitled “God’s Call to Each of Us”.  This is what I was planning to do tomorrow at work.  Why am I voluntarily doing it now?

This. –> http://newsinfo.nd.edu/news/33741-nd-vision/

I watched the video, which several of my friends had posted to Facebook.  Sometimes, that sort of thing fills me with a vicious longing for the college days gone by, for the summer I had 60 best friends, for the pink hair, for the purpose, for the feeling that comes with being a part of something larger than myself.  And yeah, okay, there’s some of that tonight.

But mostly, one phrase stood out to me: vocation is not so much about what we do, but who we are.

I am struggling right now with what I do.  I don’t know if my job is the best fit for me, if my career is the best fit, if I am doing what God wants me to.  There is a lot of very, very green grass on the other side of several fences.

But I will figure that out.  And in the meantime, through the stress and long hours, I am called to live in charity and patience and longing for Christ’s will.

And before this spurt of wisdom passes, I should probably write the Proclaim for Sunday.


Actions

Information

2 responses

14 10 2012
greennotebook's mom

Looking forward to a new blog — I am back in the habit of checking…

7 07 2013
Gregg G. Austin

While some opponents believe the increase could cut workers hours and leave jobs vacant, Assistant Professor in the Department of Economics Finance at Jackson State University, Dr. Nicholas Hill does not necessarily agree with that theory.

Leave a comment